Czech Republic Closes Borders

Published: 13.03.2020 Related countries:  Korea (south) Korea (south)

More European countries expected to follow suit to prevent further spread of virus

Effective Sunday 15th, 11:59 PM, foreigners will not be able to enter the country for the duration of the 30-day state of emergency declared on March 12th.
On Thursday, the government in Prague declared a 30-day state of emergency. It banned public events of more than 30 people and ordered the closure of sports centers, spa services, and galleries. The government also mandated restaurants and pubs to close by 8:00 pm from Friday onward.
This is an unprecedented measure in connection with the coronavirus epidemic. There was no end date to the measures specified during the conference. The government has suspended issuing visas and residence permits.
The only exceptions are foreigners with temporary residence for over 90 days in the Czech Republic and foreigners with permanent residence (NOT student visas or long-term residence permits).
Furthermore, anyone returning to the Czech Republic from the following risk countries must undergo a 14-day quarantine: Austria, Belgium, China, Denmark, FranceGermany, Greece, Iran, Italy, Japan, Netherlands, Norway, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, UK and USA.
Exceptions for entry to the country will be allowed for several professions, such as truck drivers, to ensure that the supply chain will not be interrupted, and people who commute to work across the borders.
In addition, the Czech police are now being deployed to check whether people who have been ordered into quarantine are staying indoors. The army has also been called to oversee and help with border control.

Source: Prague Morning
Prepared by the team of foreign office CzechTrade and Czechinvest Seoul